Needleprint’s Infinity Charts are Wonderful!

I love Needleprint!   Jacqueline Holdsworth is a very generous needlewoman.    I love her infinity charts, and my first design using the software is taken from one of the Quaker medallions in Ackworth Motifs II.   I’m doing it as another pillowtop in 4 shades of rose with black.  I’m still struggling mightily with the Jane Greenoff software  (my heart definitely belongs to Pattern Maker Pro),  but I hope I’ll be OK once I wrestle with it more.  Perhaps I can purchase an upgrade to Jane Greenoff’s software, I’ll have to ask.   I know that there’s no perfect software, butPMP comes really close for me … editing with it is just soooo easy compared to everything else.  And Jane’s software was about the only program that I hadn’t tried.  Does anyone use her Designer Gold?  Does it make editing easier?  Are upgrades possible, or are they stand-alone products.

Anyway, this design ( Keys to a Neuro [ Necker Squares] Quaker) uses 4 shades of any color plus black.  The symbols to the top-left of the chart start with the lightest color (heart symbol) and progress down to the darkest color (m symbol) and then black at the bottom.

Any Color Quaker and Neuro Quaker are going to live on my living room couch when they grow up and become pillows.

I’ve posted a file of the Symbol chart in the green, my Shared Files box, and put some alternate color scheme patterns into the blog as well.  I’d like to try it in two colors also  …  maybe light and medium shades of purple and green.

Infinity Charts (software and editable patterns)  are available  at  http://needleprint.blogspot.com and are going to give you hours and hours of enjoyment.

I also re-designed the Beatrix Potter Infinity Chart to suit myself and am thrilled with it!  I love old samplers, but I absolutely have to make them mine if I’m going to stitch them.   Jacqueline’s Infinity Charts are pure genius!  Now I may actually finish my Beatrix Potter sampler!  More to come!

Happy  Stitching!

Remy

PS  This is a free design, but is not to be used for anything except your personal pleasure.

Keys to a Neuro Quaker ~ Symbols

About embroiderbee

ABOUT ME: Catholic, Wife, Mom, Artist, Researcher, Baker, Cat- Herder, New Englander. I love designing needlework, especially samplers with specialty stitches, applique & quilting, painting, photographing, reading, writing, baking, fabric and floss collecting. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE COLORS: bluish-purples and greens. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE ANIMALS: Cats ~ you don't have to walk them, and they purr. I've also loved my share of dogs. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MUSIC: Instrumental ~ flute, piano, Smetana's Moldau ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MOVIES: Pride & Prejudice with Ehle and Firth. No other versions need apply. Waking Ned Devine, Happy endings only. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE BOOKS: A Tale of Two Cities, Pride and Prejudice, mysteries, romance, classics, non-fiction. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE CLOTHES: Worn blue jeans, turtlenecks, T-shirts, and hoodies. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE TV SHOWS: Book Notes, some History Channel, Fox News, The Science Channel, some The Real Housewives of ... , Doc Martin, some Masterpiece Theater, some TED talks. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE THINGS 2 DO: Read a good book during a rain or snow storm. Stitch or paint in beautiful light. Talk in bed with my husband late at night and then go for an early breakfast... ie, have his total undivided attention, and luxuriate in it. Talk with our son without cell phones, ipods, etc at a family meal. Go to lunch with a friend and laugh till our sides hurt. Browse in a good library or bookstore. Go to the theater when both the play and the seats are good. Stay home and do absolutely nothing. Read on my Kindle! *~*~*~* ETHNICITY: Mixed-American Mutt of Irish (97%), Welsh, and many other slivers of ethnicity.

Posted on August 15, 2009, in cross stitch, Infinity Charts, Needleprint, personal motifs, Quaker. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Laura 54,

    Neuro Quaker is my descriptive name for the design elements in this piece.
    I started with a Quaker motif, and then I added a visual illusion, the Necker Square. Looking at a Necker Square and perceiving it change its orientation is a method that helps to enhance the normal flow of communication between parts of the brain.

    Thanks for stopping by and inquiring.

    Remy

  2. What does the phrase Neuro Quaker mean? I hope people remember that there are still Quakers in this day in age. Their formal name is Religious Society of Friends.

Leave a Reply

work in progress

“Anyone who fails to go forward begins to go back, and love, I believe, can never be content to stay for long where it is.” —St. Teresa of Avila

Chirnside BookChat

Collins Booksellers Chirnside Park

deborahkemball

Quilting and Applique

AlarTTex

Nuestro Taller / Notre Atelier / Our Atelier

MatthewSix25to34's Blog

Listening in obedience to God's words and sharing them with the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

