Nigella Shadow (Niggy) ~ The Tortoiseshell Princess

Niggy Looking Up for Pat-Pats

Sleek, sweet-tempered (no matter how she looks … and sometimes she can look pretty fierce) affectionate, funny and the absolute best cat I ever rescued.

In this picture, she’s sitting in one of the time-share boxes that dot the rooms of our house.  I’ve been trying to get a really good picture of her, but she’s hard to photograph.  Being a modest little creature, she turns her head or shuts her eyes when she sees me with my camera.

She follows me wherever I go and sits quietly nearby as I do chores.  She’s an inside cat and yes, she’s spoiled, but in a good way.  She just expects love, because that’s all she’s ever known.  She makes me laugh out loud at least once each day, and her presence reminds me that God is amazing because He put such heart into such a wee being.

She is my cat, and I am her human.

About embroiderbee

ABOUT ME: Catholic, Wife, Mom, Artist, Researcher, Baker, Cat- Herder, New Englander. I love designing needlework, especially samplers with specialty stitches, applique & quilting, painting, photographing, reading, writing, baking, fabric and floss collecting. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE COLORS: bluish-purples and greens. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE ANIMALS: Cats ~ you don't have to walk them, and they purr. I've also loved my share of dogs. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MUSIC: Instrumental ~ flute, piano, Smetana's Moldau ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MOVIES: Pride & Prejudice with Ehle and Firth. No other versions need apply. Waking Ned Devine, Happy endings only. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE BOOKS: A Tale of Two Cities, Pride and Prejudice, mysteries, romance, classics, non-fiction. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE CLOTHES: Worn blue jeans, turtlenecks, T-shirts, and hoodies. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE TV SHOWS: Book Notes, some History Channel, Fox News, The Science Channel, some The Real Housewives of ... , Doc Martin, some Masterpiece Theater, some TED talks. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE THINGS 2 DO: Read a good book during a rain or snow storm. Stitch or paint in beautiful light. Talk in bed with my husband late at night and then go for an early breakfast... ie, have his total undivided attention, and luxuriate in it. Talk with our son without cell phones, ipods, etc at a family meal. Go to lunch with a friend and laugh till our sides hurt. Browse in a good library or bookstore. Go to the theater when both the play and the seats are good. Stay home and do absolutely nothing. Read on my Kindle! *~*~*~* ETHNICITY: Mixed-American Mutt of Irish (97%), Welsh, and many other slivers of ethnicity.

Posted on October 29, 2009, in Boon companion, cats, Fantastic feline, Nigella Shadow. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have a tortie that is almost a twin to Niggy. I got her when she was almost a year old and she had never known love. It took 6 months to finally get to where I could touch her, but she is now my best bed buddy & worth every effort.

    • Hi KC,
      Torties are very special! We have another sweet rescue kitty, Marble, who’s been with us for over two years and is still a very nervous little cat. She is much better when we put on her
      Thundershirt, but she’s just not a natural cuddler. She and her sister, Bella, were feral rescues, but Bella is an absolute love muffin, and only nervous around new people. We’ve taken to carrying Marb
      around (like a papoose) to encourage more pet to people contact. She’s getting better, but it’s a long process for our tiny runt of the litter.

  2. Hi Daffycat!

    A big feline Hi back to Taco! I love that name!

    Remy

  3. Niggy is beautiful. My Taco (a tortie herself) says “Hi!”

  4. Thanks Delores,

    She really is the best cat I’ve ever had the pleasure of sharing my reading chair with.

    Remy

  5. Awww, shucks. What a nice post. You are both lucky to have each other.

Leave a Reply

work in progress

“Anyone who fails to go forward begins to go back, and love, I believe, can never be content to stay for long where it is.” —St. Teresa of Avila

Chirnside BookChat

Collins Booksellers Chirnside Park

deborahkemball

Quilting and Applique

AlarTTex

Nuestro Taller / Notre Atelier / Our Atelier

MatthewSix25to34's Blog

Listening in obedience to God's words and sharing them with the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

