Updake!

Dear Reader,

It’s been quite a summer, and I’m looking forward to fall.  If you’ve read my blog for awhile, you know that I’ve had adventures with my Dell printer.  Just search under Dell 2130cn if you don’t know the story.  I love my printer, but I do not love the cost of its ink cartridges, and I most definitely do not love its Tech Support.  My printer has now been down for over two weeks because none of my Cyan cartridges (3 new ones) will work.  One cannot print anything without all 4 cartridges working.  My DH has absolutely NO patience with Dell anymore,  and although I love the quality of 2130cn’s printing when it’s working … it’s not.  I’ve had to save pictures of things which I wanted to print, like class notes.  But, after scouring the web, I’m going to purchase an inexpensive HP printer this afternoon.  At least I can purchase two years of American English tech support for $29.00.  I cannot tell you how frustrating it is to try talking with foreign tech support operating off a script.   I would be totally unable to help someone speaking a foreign language with anything, but Dell expects that just because their Tech people have been given  “American” names, we’re going to be able to understand each other.  As I’ve said before, the global economy doesn’t always work for me, especially for technical stuff.

DS broke his ankle in early summer … playing paintball.  I won’t even go there.  He’s healing nicely now, and that’s what counts with us.  DH and I have been battling with a sly fox which has killed 3 turkeys, 2 ducks and numerous chickens over the past few weeks.  We’re also dealing with local residents who seem to feel no compunction about stomping all over private land and asking stupid questions … do your chickens have enough space?  Are those goats?  Why do you have them?  OMG!!!!!  We’ve been trying to be patient and friendly, but I’m putting up No Trespassing signs, because respect for other people’s property and common sense are increasingly rare.  We had one weirdo crawling around under under our shrubbery and stalking our chickens (they were free range at the time, but due to the fox, and to people like him, they’re not anymore). When confronted, he actually told me that he was taking pictures of them  (no camera visible) to post on Facebook.  He said that he was from south Florida and had never seen free range chickens walking about   Very hard to believe … plus he looked like a remnant from the sixties.  Our chickens are an old breed and very beautiful, so I didn’t trust or believe him.  I figured he was taking pics for future orders.  I swear there is no end to the sleazy, crazy people.  I called the police.  My girlfriend’s brother is one of the offices who responded, and although he found it somewhat amusing that the guy said that he was posting chicken pics to Facebook, he cautioned us to be vigilant, as creeps use all kinds of bizarre behaviors to case houses, farms and livestock for future theft.  And someone already stole a six foot gate we we planning to install, which was not in an easily accessible place.  I think it’s a darn good thing we’re active NRA members.

I haven’t done any stitching or designing since I started my GIMP design class.  My drawing class is going well, as is my abstract painting class, but I need a 72 hour day to squeeze in everything.   Thank goodness for the internet!

Happy stitching!

Remy

Big Daddy

Brown-Brown

Niggy in her Bath

About embroiderbee

ABOUT ME: Catholic, Wife, Mom, Artist, Researcher, Baker, Cat- Herder, New Englander. I love designing needlework, especially samplers with specialty stitches, applique & quilting, painting, photographing, reading, writing, baking, fabric and floss collecting. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE COLORS: bluish-purples and greens. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE ANIMALS: Cats ~ you don't have to walk them, and they purr. I've also loved my share of dogs. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MUSIC: Instrumental ~ flute, piano, Smetana's Moldau ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MOVIES: Pride & Prejudice with Ehle and Firth. No other versions need apply. Waking Ned Devine, Happy endings only. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE BOOKS: A Tale of Two Cities, Pride and Prejudice, mysteries, romance, classics, non-fiction. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE CLOTHES: Worn blue jeans, turtlenecks, T-shirts, and hoodies. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE TV SHOWS: Book Notes, some History Channel, Fox News, The Science Channel, some The Real Housewives of ... , Doc Martin, some Masterpiece Theater, some TED talks. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE THINGS 2 DO: Read a good book during a rain or snow storm. Stitch or paint in beautiful light. Talk in bed with my husband late at night and then go for an early breakfast... ie, have his total undivided attention, and luxuriate in it. Talk with our son without cell phones, ipods, etc at a family meal. Go to lunch with a friend and laugh till our sides hurt. Browse in a good library or bookstore. Go to the theater when both the play and the seats are good. Stay home and do absolutely nothing. Read on my Kindle! *~*~*~* ETHNICITY: Mixed-American Mutt of Irish (97%), Welsh, and many other slivers of ethnicity.

Posted on August 30, 2010, in cats, Chickens, Copyright 2010, Dell 2130cn printer, Fun with multinational corporations, kittens, Nigella Shadow, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

work in progress

“Anyone who fails to go forward begins to go back, and love, I believe, can never be content to stay for long where it is.” —St. Teresa of Avila

Chirnside BookChat

Collins Booksellers Chirnside Park

deborahkemball

Quilting and Applique

AlarTTex

Nuestro Taller / Notre Atelier / Our Atelier

MatthewSix25to34's Blog

Listening in obedience to God's words and sharing them with the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

