Some Sad News about Coffee

http://bodyecology.com/articles/coffee-health.php

I enjoy the newsletters I receive from Body Ecology, but the latest one is depressing.  As many of you have read in this blog, I love coffee.  My DH, a saintly man for putting up with me, has been telling me for years that coffee is NOT good for me.  He tells this to his patients as well, and all of us are loathe to believe him.  Coffee is entwined with my creative life and family memories.  Given my druthers, I like it iced, in a very tall glass, sweetened with maple syrup and topped with cream.   It takes a lot to pry me away from my coffee, but this issue of the Body Ecology newsletter may have done it.  Coffee drinking promotes the growth of facial hair and decreases the growth of head hair?!!  Ewwwwwwwww!! Who knew?   Gross!!!   Man-boobs?!   Coffee promotes the growth of man-boobs??   OMG!  My DH loves the smell of coffee, but dislikes the taste and what it can do to the body.  He’s always telling me that drinking it stresses the adrenals.  That should have been enough to get me off coffee, but it wasn’t.  Then along comes a little article on coffee promoting the growth of facial hair and decreasing the growth of head hair in women, and I’m ready to quit!   Vanity thy name is woman!!

The timing of the article’s arrival is almost funny because I’ve been finishing up a sampler design on coffee.  It’ll probably be the only way I can enjoy coffee in the future  … through needlework.   Read the article and decide for yourselves, but for me and my head hairs, we’re done!

Remy

PS  My favorite uncle drank coffee, exactly the way I like it … for decades.  He LOVED coffee.  He developed adult onset diabetes.

About embroiderbee

ABOUT ME: Catholic, Wife, Mom, Artist, Researcher, Baker, Cat- Herder, New Englander. I love designing needlework, especially samplers with specialty stitches, applique & quilting, painting, photographing, reading, writing, baking, fabric and floss collecting. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE COLORS: bluish-purples and greens. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE ANIMALS: Cats ~ you don't have to walk them, and they purr. I've also loved my share of dogs. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MUSIC: Instrumental ~ flute, piano, Smetana's Moldau ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MOVIES: Pride & Prejudice with Ehle and Firth. No other versions need apply. Waking Ned Devine, Happy endings only. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE BOOKS: A Tale of Two Cities, Pride and Prejudice, mysteries, romance, classics, non-fiction. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE CLOTHES: Worn blue jeans, turtlenecks, T-shirts, and hoodies. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE TV SHOWS: Book Notes, some History Channel, Fox News, The Science Channel, some The Real Housewives of ... , Doc Martin, some Masterpiece Theater, some TED talks. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE THINGS 2 DO: Read a good book during a rain or snow storm. Stitch or paint in beautiful light. Talk in bed with my husband late at night and then go for an early breakfast... ie, have his total undivided attention, and luxuriate in it. Talk with our son without cell phones, ipods, etc at a family meal. Go to lunch with a friend and laugh till our sides hurt. Browse in a good library or bookstore. Go to the theater when both the play and the seats are good. Stay home and do absolutely nothing. Read on my Kindle! *~*~*~* ETHNICITY: Mixed-American Mutt of Irish (97%), Welsh, and many other slivers of ethnicity.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in Coffee, Vanity. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. shelia daniels

    I just found your site an am in love. corssstitch is on of my favorites. I know this is an old post and you probably won’t even see this but, when you get older as some woman have said you will have facial hair anyway. So just get out the hair removal stuff and enjoy your coffee. I can give up a lot of things. but coffee isn’t one of them.

  2. If coffee promotes facial hair growth, I’m so glad I don’t drink it. Menopause chin hairs are bad enough. Imagine if I “fertilized” them with coffee. Yikes! Anxious to see your coffee sampler.

    • You’re too funny! I started to make myself an iced coffee at least two times today, but I resisted and am now feeling very virtuous … and very tired. It’ll take me a few more days to get over my coffee-lag, and it’ll take me about a week to get the coffee sampler finished up and posted.

  3. Hi Ladies,
    I’m hoping that the very occasional cup of coffee is OK. I was not an occasional coffee drinker! I had at least two cups or tall glasses of iced coffee every day. I know that I have more aches and pains when I drink lots of coffee. My DH tells me that it isn’t just that it’s not good for your adrenals because it whips them, it’s also bad for your bones because its acidity works to leach out calcium, much like the way soda does. Especially after menopause! Given what’s happening with health care, I’m not going to take any chances!!

  4. Remy, I am so sorry. Does just one cup of coffee do this? That is just about all I drink. My husband loves coffee and drinks it all the time. I have to stay away from the caffine. =( I do love hot herbal teas. And green tea, too!

  5. Everything in excess is bad for you, but I’m sure that one or two cups of coffee is OK. Or, at least that’s what I want to believe!

Leave a Reply

work in progress

“Anyone who fails to go forward begins to go back, and love, I believe, can never be content to stay for long where it is.” —St. Teresa of Avila

Chirnside BookChat

Collins Booksellers Chirnside Park

deborahkemball

Quilting and Applique

AlarTTex

Nuestro Taller / Notre Atelier / Our Atelier

MatthewSix25to34's Blog

Listening in obedience to God's words and sharing them with the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

