Freebie ~ The Snail Sampler

I’ve always loved snails and have been reading a wonderful book, The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating, by Elisabeth Tova Bailey which relates the sudden onset of a woman’s strange illness, and her relationship with a tiny  gastropod.  Her sickness forever changes the course of her life, transforming her from an active outdoor woman to an invalid confined indoors.  When a visiting friend gives her a tiny terrestrial snail found by chance on a walk,  she starts to explore the vast mysteries of a much smaller world than the one she had always inhabited.  The book speaks to the power of accepting change without accepting defeat, and of the worlds around us which might never be noticed without a disruption in our “regular” lives.  ISBN:  978-1-56512-606-0

The Snail Sampler combines my love of snails with Theresa Heine’s lovely, onomatopoeic verse, and beautiful flosses from The Gentle Art http://www.thegentleart.com/ga/home.ASP It is under my copyright and free for your personal, non-commercial use only.  The design contains six special stitches and is 140 w  by  188 stitches h.

Happy Stitching!

Remy

PS   Earlier today 03-15, WordPress gave me  a few “possibly related” links to this post, and one of them,   Snail’s Pace, http://snailspacepaper.com is definitely a blog worth visiting. The recent post, Slow-Down Therapy is good Lenten food for thought.

~ The Snail Sampler ~

About embroiderbee

ABOUT ME: Catholic, Wife, Mom, Artist, Researcher, Baker, Cat- Herder, New Englander. I love designing needlework, especially samplers with specialty stitches, applique & quilting, painting, photographing, reading, writing, baking, fabric and floss collecting. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE COLORS: bluish-purples and greens. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE ANIMALS: Cats ~ you don't have to walk them, and they purr. I've also loved my share of dogs. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MUSIC: Instrumental ~ flute, piano, Smetana's Moldau ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE MOVIES: Pride & Prejudice with Ehle and Firth. No other versions need apply. Waking Ned Devine, Happy endings only. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE BOOKS: A Tale of Two Cities, Pride and Prejudice, mysteries, romance, classics, non-fiction. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE CLOTHES: Worn blue jeans, turtlenecks, T-shirts, and hoodies. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE TV SHOWS: Book Notes, some History Channel, Fox News, The Science Channel, some The Real Housewives of ... , Doc Martin, some Masterpiece Theater, some TED talks. ~*~*~*~* FAVORITE THINGS 2 DO: Read a good book during a rain or snow storm. Stitch or paint in beautiful light. Talk in bed with my husband late at night and then go for an early breakfast... ie, have his total undivided attention, and luxuriate in it. Talk with our son without cell phones, ipods, etc at a family meal. Go to lunch with a friend and laugh till our sides hurt. Browse in a good library or bookstore. Go to the theater when both the play and the seats are good. Stay home and do absolutely nothing. Read on my Kindle! *~*~*~* ETHNICITY: Mixed-American Mutt of Irish (97%), Welsh, and many other slivers of ethnicity.

Posted on March 14, 2011, in Alphabet Sampler, Copyright 2011, cross stitch, Favorite Quotation, Freebie, Great book, Interesting Books, personal motifs, Shared Files Box, Snails, Special Stitches Included. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Another beautiful design! I wonder the state you’re in while creating your designs! I think you must be extracting beautiful feelings in a form of a design! God bless you and give you health and happiness in return

  2. I adore the snail sampler but can’t seem to figure out how to print it out. If I click on the picture and print, the symbols and specialty stitches don’t show up well. If I enlarge it, then I can only print out the left side of the pattern. I’m using an iMac computer and not sure how to get the whole thing to print out well. And I see no color/symbol chart at all. Where should I be clicking?

    • Hi Irene,
      I’m Delighted that you like the Snail Sampler. I’m not sure from your comment where you are clicking to get the pattern. Go to the My Shared Files box widget on the right hand side of the blog. All my free patterns are in there, with the most recent being on the top of the list.

      The PNG files (pictures) won’t open with a double click in the box widget.. You have to right click on the .png files to open and save them. The PDF files (symbol pattern files with colored backgrounds) do open with a regular double click, or a right click. Before trying to download a pattern, make sure that your download path is defined. Mine currently go to a file on my desktop. Go to the place/file where your downloads come in and open it. Then open my box.net widget. Box will ask you where you want to download my pattern, and you answer by clicking on your download spot. If this doesn’t work, contact me again and provide me with your email, and I’ll send you the patterns that you want as attachments.
      Good luck!
      Remy

    • I am so sorry. A few days ago when you first posted it, I tried clicking on the picture itself. It opened up to a single page picture or I could enlarge it. The details were wonderful but I couldn’t print it. Many other sites work this way: click and print. Today I just discovered you have the snail pattern over in the widget box. It was extremely easy to get the pattern from there. I’m learning. 🙂 Thank you so much. irene

  3. Thak a lot for this very nice sampler

  4. Thank you to share yours models with us ; it is very beautiful. Congratulations. ann from France

  5. Hi Linda,
    I’ve just downloaded all the files since Orange and had no trouble. The PNG files won’t open with a double click. You have to right click on the .png files to open and save them. The PDF files do open with a regular double click, or a right click. Before trying to download a pattern, make sure that your download path is defined. Go to the place where your downloads come in and open it. Then open my box.net widget. Box will ask you where you want to download my pattern, and you answer by clicking on your download spot. If this doesn’t work, contact me again and provide me with your email, and I’ll send you the patterns that you want as attachments.
    Good luck!
    Remy

  6. For some reason I can’t get your pdf color symbols to load so I can download them. It started with the Orange sampler. Is anyone else having this problem? I love doing samplers. I love your samplers. Dollfae

  1. Pingback: Free cross-stitch charts · Needlework News | CraftGossip.com

Leave a comment

work in progress

“Anyone who fails to go forward begins to go back, and love, I believe, can never be content to stay for long where it is.” —St. Teresa of Avila

deborahkemball

Quilting and Applique

MatthewSix25to34's Blog

Listening in obedience to God's words and instructions, then sharing them with the world

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.